Last Updated on February 1, 2024 by winus426

Since soccer ball is the world’s most popular sport and is loved by so many people, there are also many influential soccer ball events in different regions, do you know which ones are there? As a football fan, you may know only the World Cup, but how can you overlook other significant tournaments like the European Cup, American Cup, African Cup, and Asian Cup?

Here is a list of some world-famous and best football tournaments for your information.

Let’s check this out!

1. The FIFA World Cup

World Cup is an international competition between national men’s soccer teams, organized every four years by the International Football Federation (FIFA), the top association in world football, alternating with the Olympic Games. Uruguay was the first World Cup champion in 1930, 1942 and 1946 were suspended when World War II broke out.

2. UEFA European Championship

UEFA European Championship Trophy

The UEFA European Championship (i.e., the European Cup), is an international football competition at the highest level among UEFA member states. It took place for the first time in 1960, and every four years thereafter. It was first called the European Nations Cup, and it was later renamed the European Football Championship in 1968.

3. Copa America

copa america trophy

Copa America is a football competition held by 10 of the most powerful national teams in South America. Originated in 1916, the competition was contested annually at first, then irregularly after 27 years. By 1959, it was played every four years. It is the oldest competition in the Americas and the world. It was established as a celebration of Argentina’s centennial.

4. African Cup of Nations (CAF)

African Cup of Nations Trophy

Africa Cup of Nations is an intercontinental football competition initiated by the African Football Confederation (CAF), initially held in 1957. 

Initially, only Egypt, Sudan, and Ethiopia participated in the first African Cup of Nations. South Africa also requested to participate but was rejected due to the country’s notorious apartheid policy, North African powerhouse Egypt won the inaugural championship. 

Since 1968, the African Football Confederation has stipulated that the African Cup will be held every two years, and the participating teams have also increased with the gradual liberation of African

Since 1998, the African Cup of Nations has expanded to 16 teams, and every team but the host team must compete in qualifying matches organized by the African Football Confederation.

5. AFC Asian Cup (Asian Nations Cup)

AFC Asian Cup Trophy

The Asian Football Confederation runs the Asian Cup every four years, which is the highest level of men’s football competition in Asia. Teams participating in the tournament must be AFC members.

6. The CONCACAF Gold Cup

The CONCACAF Gold Cup Trophy

The North American and Caribbean Football Federation holds the Gold Cup every two years. It is the highest-level national team competition in the region and was first held in the United States in 1991. Since then, several other events have been held in the United States, except for two Gold Cups hosted by Mexico.



The UEFA Champions League is UEFA’s most prestigious club competition. Its predecessor was the European Club Champions Cup, created in 1955/56. In 1992, the Cup was changed in terms of format and name by UEFA.

The two most successful clubs in the UEFA Champions League are Real Madrid and AC Milan, having won the title three times. As far as the UEFA Champions League era goes, Real Madrid is the best with nine titles, followed by AC Milan with seven titles and Liverpool with five.

8. UEFA Europa League

UEFA Europa League Trophy

The UEFA Europa League, formerly the UEFA Cup, is the second biggest club competition in Europe.

9. Copa Libertadores

Copa Libertadores Trophy

At the level of the European Champions Cup, the Copa Libertadores is a competition for the highest honors in South American football.

After the UEFA Champions League success, CONMEBOL decided to host the South American Championship between 10 of the strongest clubs in its league (who were dubbed ‘Continental Libertadores’) in 1960. When the competition officially started in 2018, first only champion teams from the domestic league participated. Since 1966, the competition has been open to champions and runners-up from all national leagues.

10. AFC Champions League

AFC Champions League Trophy

Asian Football Club Champions League is an intercontinental tournament hosted by the AFC representing the highest level of football competition among Asian clubs.

11. Premier League

Premier League trophy

Premier League is the highest professional football league within the England Football Association.

Known as one of the ‘five major leagues in Europe’, the English Premier League consists of 20 teams and is considered to be one of the best leagues in the world. It is fast-paced, competitive, and has many strong teams. It has become one of the most popular sporting events and the highest-grossing league.

12. Spanish Football League

La Liga trophy

Spanish Football League was founded in 1928 and is the most competitive league among all European leagues. It is known as the ‘Star League’ and ‘Mr. League’. cradle. For many years, La Liga has been at the top of the FIFA and UEFA standings. It is no secret that La Liga has an enormous appeal in the hearts of players and fans and that all the top stars in the world would like to play there.

13. Serie A

Serie A trophy

Serie A is the highest professional football league in Italy and one of the top five leagues in Europe. The Italian Football League was first established in 1898 and is divided into regional leagues. The champions of each regional league determine the overall champion in a knockout tournament.

‘Little World Cup’ was once recognized as the world’s first football league. Serie A is the highest-level professional football league. During the 1980s and 1990s, it was home to many stars and strong teams.