Last Updated on December 14, 2023 by

It is widely believed that badminton is among the most popular sports in the world. The major badminton tournaments that are hosted by the International Badminton Federation include Thomas Cup, Uber Cup, World Badminton Championships, Sudirman Cup, World Cup Badminton Championships, All England Badminton Championships, and International Series Grand Prix.

Now let’s look at the important badminton tournaments around the world!

important tournaments of badminton

What are the major tournaments in badminton around the world?

1. The Thomas Cup

It is the World Men’s Team Badminton Championships. The first competition was held in 1948. Now it takes place every two years in even-numbered years. Three singles and two doubles are played in the game.

2. Uber Cup

World Women’s Team Badminton Championships are held every two years in odd-numbered years since 1956, consisting of three singles games and two doubles games.

3. The World Badminton Championships

It consists of five men’s and women’s singles, doubles, and mixed doubles competitions. It has been held every three years since 1977 and changed to a two-year session in 1983.

4. The Sudirman Cup

In 1989, the world mixed team competition was held, and it takes place every two years in odd-numbered years. It consists of singles and doubles matches between men and women.

5. Badminton World Cup

It is an invitational event in which the International Badminton Federation invites players who have demonstrated outstanding performances that year and is preparing to host a badminton grand slam event in which huge bonuses will be awarded.

6. The All England Badminton Championships

The tournament was founded in 1899 by the England Badminton Association. It is the oldest badminton tournament in history. Originally contested by players from the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth of Nations, it has now become a global competition.

7. The International Series Grand Prix

It is organized according to the method of the World Tennis Grand Prix by the International Badminton Federation. It began in 1983, dividing the races into zones, which are organized into a series of races. Based on scores in each competition, the top 16 athletes will advance to the finals.

Introduction to the world badminton competition system

A new tournament system has been unveiled by the Badminton World Federation (BWF) for the period of 2018 to 2021. Unlike before, the world’s badminton competitions are mainly divided into two levels under the new system, which abolishes the top super competition, super competition, and gold competition.

Grade 1

Grade 1 includes the Olympic Games, the Tongyu Cup, the Sudirman Cup, the World Championships, the World Youth Championships, and the World Youth Team Championships. The 2018 World Championships will take place in Nanjing, China.

Grade 2

Previously, the top-level Super Tournament, Super Tournament, and Gold Tournament were amalgamated into the second level (Grade 2) and divided into levels 1 through 6. As well as adjusting the level, the prize money was also increased. Millions of dollars can be won by the top four events at the highest level.

Grade 2-Level 1

With total prize money of US$1.5 million, Level 1 is the year-end finals of the BWF.

Grade 2-Level 2

Level 2 tournaments include the All England, China Open, and Indonesia Open, with prize money exceeding one million dollars. In 2018, the Indonesia Open will reach US$1.25 million, second only to the US$1.5 million for the year-end finale.

Grade 2-Level 3

The five tournament prize money at Level 3 each reached $700,000.

Grade 2-Level 4

Among the 7 stations at Level 4, prize money reaches 350,000 US dollars, of which the Korean Open reaches 600,000.

Grade 2-Level 5

There will be 11 races across Thailand, Switzerland, Germany, New Zealand, Australia, the United States, Spain, Taipei, Macau, India, and South Korea as Level 5 races.

Grade 2-Level 6

Like Level 5, Level 6 also has 11 races in France, China, Canada, Japan, Russia, Vietnam, India, Indonesia, the Netherlands, Germany, and Scotland.

With the adjustment of the level, the original Super Series year-end competition invited the top eight points from the 12 Super Series events to participate, and next year will invite the top eight points from the 37 stations.

Furthermore, the year-end competition of Level 1 will be the quarter-finals, and the group stage will be played first, the qualifying rounds for Level 2 and Level 3 will be canceled, and the top 32 will compete directly.

BWF President Paul Eric Hoyer said, “Our tournament has seen a lot of growth in the past few years in terms of excitement and attractiveness, and we are now assessing how we can make it even better.” Our primary objectives are to showcase spectatorship and competitiveness of the sport, increase television coverage, and improve the quality and influence of star players and top players around the world.”

‘’All six divisions will be part of the new competition system and will have their own names to allow them to be differentiated and to highlight important events while ensuring all competitions are interconnected.‘’ It was added by Hoyer.